Film Score Monthly
FSM HOME MESSAGE BOARD FSM CDs FSM ONLINE RESOURCES FUN STUFF ABOUT US  SEARCH FSM   
Search Terms: 
Search Within:   search tips 
You must log in or register to post.
  Go to page:    
 Posted:   Sep 19, 2019 - 1:36 PM   
 By:   Vestron   (Member)

I think some people involved with the album have heavily alluded to the reasons...

I have no inside knowledge myself, but it seems that we're talking about two composers who are still alive and kicking. I wouldn't think that either would really want to share the album space with the other.

And of course, there's an embarrassment issue involved as well. Would Silvestri want a score that he was only able to record for a few days (and which was unceremoniously tossed) out there? He didn't have time to finish or refine it, really. And would he sit for an interview to talk about it? I wouldn't think he'd want to.

It would sound like Hollywood poison for anyone involved to go down this road. Especially since a number of the filmmakers involved (and Tom Cruise himself) are still very active in the industry and the Mission Impossible franchise is still going. I don't think any of these people would sign off on "Hey, remember that guy we fired 23 years ago?" release. It took them six f'ing years to sign off on an expanded release of the score they DID use in the final movie!

Thanks John! There's actually some good points here. That was the kind of statement I was looking for. The embarrassment issue looks pretty much legit. Even if in my humble opinion Silvestri score was anyway amazing, I like very much the Elfman replacement one but still have a preference for the unused.

"Hey, remember that guy we fired 23 years ago?"

lol on this big grin

Posted:   Sep 19, 2019 - 2:05 PM   
 By:   jurassicmaromaro   (Member)

Thanks for the info about the alternate tracks, I’m really looking forward to getting this.